“Remember The Eyes” Free Friday, Saturday And Sunday

As of Friday, Remember The Eyes will be free for the weekend at Amazon, available at this link at the bottom of the blog.

Here is a short excerpt from the book.

Riley and Michael are lured to the Recreation Center at the university, each thinking that the other had asked them to go there. Brenda, a psychotic student at the university, who is in love with Michael, starts waving a gun around, finally shooting Riley in the shoulder and arm. Brenda won’t let Michael go to get some help for Riley.

Riley has some special abilities. Riley has the ability to put up a shield, and the ability to astral travel (to step out of her body). She puts up a shield to protect Michael, and then she goes to get help. She astral travels to her friend Sandy’s room, hoping that Sandy will hear her.

***

Riley

I took hold of my crystal, feeling all of it sparkly energy run through me, giving me the strength I needed to accomplish this task. I imagined myself away from my body, and swooshed through the night air. It felt good to be in the coolness of the evening air. It was still light out, but things were starting to darken from my point of view.

Stars formed in front of my eyes. I had to hurry. I wouldn’t be much good if I were dead. I found Sandy’s room, hoping that she would be there.

When I entered Sandy’s room, she was reading a book. The radio was playing softly in the background, her feet swaying to the beat while she read. I put my hand on her head, not knowing if this would work or not, and said, ‘Sandy! It’s Riley! I’ve been shot! I’m at the Rec Hall! Get security, and the police! Please hurry, Sandy! There isn’t much time!’

I stood there for a moment to see if it registered with her. A perplexed look came over her face, and then one of recognition. She had gotten the message.

She dialled 911, and then security.

“Justin? Hi, it’s Sandy from Registration. Yeah, hi. The reason I’m calling is, could you check the Rec Hall for me? I just have this weird feeling that something bad has happened over there.” She paused a second, then said, “I don’t know, but could you please just check it out. I’ve already called the police.” Another second later, she added, “Thanks, Justin.”

I was losing the battle to stay awake. I put my hand on Sandy again, and said ‘Thanks.’ I swooshed back to my body, blackness nearly taking me over. I opened my eyes. Michael was still holding me, not wanting to let me go. He had pressure on my wound, but I was growing tired.

He looked down at me, his eyebrows furrowed. I put my hand to his face again and said to him in his head, ‘Help is on it’s way.’

He looked at me, caressing my cheek softly. I wanted to close my eyes, to feel the coolness of the outside again. I’m hot. “Stay with me, Riley! Don’t you dare go to sleep! Riley! Don’t go to sleep!” I could feel him shaking me, pleading with me to stay awake. I try to keep my eyes open, but I’m so tired.

I heard Brenda speak. “You know Michael, it doesn’t have to be that way if you come to me now. I can give you so much more than she could.” She tried to look seductive and flirty.

“No,” was all he said. I looked up into his eyes, and he looked down at me, smiling weakly, brushing my hair with his fingers away from my face. I don’t know if I smiled back at him or not. I had started to lose all track of time and place. The pain in my right shoulder and arm had ceased to exist. I felt like I was just hovering over my body, my life and my soul.

“Then you leave me no choice.” She pulled the trigger but the bullet bounced off, ricocheting off the shield and hitting the wall. She looked at us, perplexed. Anger overtook her and she aimed again. When she fired, the bullet bounced off the shield and hit the ceiling, bits of tile raining down upon us, but hitting my shield.

I looked up at the ceiling, and said quietly, “Thank you, God.” The shield was working, and I had gone to get help. The shield was protecting Michael, and he was all that mattered.

She pointed at me and screamed, “See! She’s a witch!” She shot again, and once again, the bullet went off in a different direction, landing away from us.

Then I heard sirens outside. Oh, thank goodness, the cops are here. Finally we could get out of here. Oh, thank you, Sandy. Thank you for hearing me.

Still, the darkness wanted to take me. I didn’t know if I could hang on anymore. I could feel my eyelids growing heavy again. I just wanted to sleep.

I heard the security guards keys in the lock, and the door opening. Brenda was still in her same position, the gun pointing at us. My eyes fluttered and I heard Michael cry, “Stay with me, Riley! Help is here! Stay with me!”

He looked at his hand that still covered my wound, marvelling at the amount of blood that soaked our clothes and the floor. The blood still poured out of me, and I was having a hard time breathing and staying awake. He quickly put his hand down and resumed pressure on the wound.

“It’s ok, Michael. I don’t really feel it right now. It’s just sort of numb now.” My eyes started to shut again, twitching a bit.

He shook me slightly again, willing me to stay awake. “Stay with me! You’ve got to stay with me! Don’t you fall asleep,” he urged.

The police charged in and got into position, surrounding Michael and I. I couldn’t concentrate, my shield fading. I had my crystal in my hand, but I was having difficulty holding on, keeping the darkness at bay. Everything seemed to be happening in slow motion.

An officer shouted at Brenda. “Put the gun down, miss.”

“Michael, it doesn’t have to be this way,” she said with obvious despair, looking directly at him.

“Put the gun down, miss!” the cop said more forcefully this time.

“Please, Michael. Come to me. I’m the one that you want. Please,” she cried.

The officers moved in on her. Brenda aimed the gun at them, then again at us. She fired a shot aimed at Michael, but it bounced off my fading shield. I didn’t know how much longer I could keep it up.

The officer that had spoken to her before, fired at Brenda, shooting her in the outer arm, making her drop the gun. She screamed, holding her arm. She went down to her knees, the police rushing to her, apprehending her and the gun.

“Michael! You’ll live to regret this!” she screamed. Then to the officers, she yelled, “Get your filthy hands off me, you pig!”

Now I felt safe. Safe enough to let down my shield, and safe enough to allow the darkness to finally take me. I’d kept Michael safe from harm. I hadn’t given up.

My eyelids closed, and I thought I heard someone say, “Ok, sir. We’ll take it from here.”

I could feel myself leaving the protection of Michael’s arms, though I think he gave me up reluctantly. I looked at him, his hand in mine and I said weakly, “Promise me one thing?”

“Anything,” he said, tenderly.

“Remember our eyes.”

I don’t remember anything after that.

***

Here is the link from Amazon. http://www.amazon.com/Remember-The-Eyes-Book-ebook/dp/B004W3VYCE/ref=sr_1_3_title_0_main?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1331753663&sr=1-3

 

2 thoughts on ““Remember The Eyes” Free Friday, Saturday And Sunday

  1. Terrific excerpt, Beth!

Leave a Reply

